

Annual General Meeting Monday 16 November 2020, 5 pm, CBC Clubrooms, Deakin and ZOOM

## Attendance:

- a) CBC: Justine Beaumont, Stephen Fischer, Terri Henderson, Julia Leung, John Niven, Ian Robinson, David Hoffman, Julia Hoffman, Judith Tobin, Pam Crichton, Ross Crichton, Ian Thomson, Roy Nixon, John Hempenstall, Len Van Der Hor, Liz Van Der Hor, Niek Van Vucht, Elizabeth Havas, Janet Kahler.
- b) ZOOM John Donovan, Cathy Nichols, Alex Hewat, Patricia McDonald, Margaret Kyburz, Keith Huggan, Kevin Caruana.
- 1. The president opened the meeting at 17.00 and confirmed a quorum was in attendance and that the meeting also included online participants.
- 2. Apologies: Nil.
- 3. Acknowledgement of proxy votes: Nil.
- Confirmation of Minutes of the 2019 AGM Motion: "that the Minutes of the AGM of 2019 be accepted as a true record of that meeting". Proposed: David Hoffman, Seconded: Ian Robinson. Accepted.
- 5. **Matters arising from the Minutes of the AGM of 2019** No matters arising.

# 6. Report of the President

Justine advised it had been a relatively quiet year we fielded 3 teams at the GNOT in 2019. John Yoon and Andrew Spooner are to be thanked for their efforts managing the Junior Teams event for this year. Two members of council, Judith Tobin as Vice President and Julia Leung as Treasurer, are stepping down. She thanked both for the assistance and guidance offered during her first year as President. The President also advised that at the October Council meeting it was agreed that if there were no applicants for the Vice President Position rather than seek a fulltime replacement the position would be offered to the clubs on a rotational basis commencing with Capital's Keith Huggan.

7. Special Resolution N/A

## **Report of the Treasurer**

The treasurer tabled her report incorporating Reviewed Financial Statements for 2019-20 including the Reviewer's Report thereon all of which have been available on the BFACT web site in excess of 6 weeks. There is a healthy Balance in the Accounts with the past financial period holding steady due to decreased expenditure because of drastically reduced bridge events. In response to Janet Kahler's guestion on why BFACT's reserves were so high, the President responded that BFACT needed to preserve sufficient funds to cover the cost of running the ANC, when it is our turn. Further, it is BFACT's policy to reduce its holdings by ten percent per annum, by way of returning monies to clubs. Early this year, clubs had been requested to apply for grants, which were assessed by a subcommittee consisting of Roy Nixon and Ian Thomson. The subcommittee recommended to Council a grant to Cootamundra to purchase a dealing machine, and to Canberra Bridge Club, for visiting teaching. (The latter yet to be conducted, due to Covid-19). Additionally, BFACT provided \$1000 to clubs to compensate for additional Covid-19 costs.

The cost of masterpoints was raised. It was noted that they were set by the ABF, not BFACT.

The President noted that Canberra in Bloom contributed to BFACT's healthy bank balance, but that profit was largely due to the generosity of the Eastlake Gungahlin Club contributing their premises free of charge. The venue is unlikely to be available should Covid-19 restrictions on venues continue to apply.

Accepted

### 8. Appointment of Auditor for 2020-21

The President advised that Pele Rankin, our auditor reviewer for 1919-20 was not available for the upcoming year, consequently Council had arranged the services of Sean Galbraith. Mr Galbraith is a professional Auditor and therefore some cost is expected to be incurred for his services. Put that Sean Galbraith be appointed as auditor/reviewer for the 1920-21 financial report. Moved Ian Thomson Seconded Stephen Fischer. Accepted.

### 9. Affiliation Fee for 2020-21

Motion: "that the annual affiliation fee for 2020-21 year remain at \$8.50 (including GST) for all members of affiliated bridge clubs". Proposed Roy Nixon, seconded Ross Crichton. Accepted.

### **Report of the Tournament Secretary**

Niek's report which has been circulated was presented. In essence the bulk of representative bridge for 2020 was cancelled. The extent, if any, to which representative bridge will return in the coming year is unclear.

10. **Appointment of Returning Officer** The President advised Ian Thompson has been appointed returning officer and asked for any further nominations for council positions be presented. There being none meeting proceeded to election of Office Bearers.

### 11. Election of Office Bearers:

Ian Thomson announced each position and as there was only one nomination for each position that nomination was acclaimed from the floor.

President	Justine Beaumont	Declared elected
Treasurer	Stephen Fischer	Declared elected
Tournament Secretary	Niek Van Vucht	Declared elected
Secretary	John Niven	Declared elected

#### 12. Other Business

The question of payment to Pele Rankin was explained as an honorarium in the form of a \$200 gift voucher. The problem of appointing auditor/reviewer is due to recent changes to Incorporated Associations Act which prevents a member of the organisation or a relative of a member being appointed auditor/reviewer. It is therefore difficult for not for profit bodies to obtain pro bono services.

13. There being no further business, the President thanked everybody for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 5.40 pm.